It is important that anyone who tints their windows follows the regulations of the State of Arkansas regarding the tint of glass. Being aware of the window tinting laws of the state of Arkansas reduces the likelihood of problems you might encounter if you didn`t know. Sunny conditions in some states make window tints a must. Our article on hue laws in Arkansas is current as of 2022. Last updated was made on August 28, 2022 (about 1 month ago). We are always informed of changes and update the latest laws if necessary. Chauffeur-driven limousines (a sedan registered as a rental vehicle) may have the following window tint as follows: Arkansas is a state in the southern United States. The state`s diverse geography stretches from the mountainous regions of the Ozark and Ouachita Mountains, which make up the United States. Interior Highlands, to the densely forested lands of the south, known as the Arkansas Timberlands, to the eastern lowlands along the Mississippi River and the Arkansas Delta. Known as the “natural state,” the diverse regions of Arkansas offer residents and tourists a variety of outdoor recreation opportunities. If you go beyond Arkansas` darkest legal hue, you could face stiff penalties. Driving with illegally tinted windows – as well as installing illegally tinted windows – is a Class B administrative offence. If you are charged and convicted by a judge, you can face a $1,000 fine and up to 90 days in jail.
Plus, you have to remove your illegal window tint and go back to a car glass store to have your windows tinted, which doubles the cost! Yes, you can install a tint on the top five inches of your vehicle`s windshield. Windshield blinds are legal in Arkansas if they meet certain state guidelines. 5% shade is not legal in Arkansas. The state limits the allowed shade to a maximum of 20%. Drivers who opt for a 5% tint on their windows may face fines and/or revocation of their driver`s license. The law is strictly enforced and violations can have serious consequences. Our tinted window laws in Arkansas are in effect for 2022. These laws govern how dark and reflective your automatic hue can be, but they also establish other rules and regulations that you need to be aware of. The darkest legal shade in Arkansas depends on the type of vehicle you drive and the windows you tint. In fact, Arkansas has different rules for the darkest legal shade for sedans than for sport utility vehicles (SUVs) and vans. In all vehicles, the state of Arkansas prohibits the metallic or reflective appearance on automotive glass.
We recommend that you read the following statements carefully before deciding to apply window tints to your vehicle. 35% hue is currently legal in Arkansas. This means you can install a window film that reduces the amount of visible light that passes through your windows. This type of film is often used in cars because it makes the vehicle darker and less visible. However, there are some limitations to this law. The sheet shall be applied in such a way as not to obstruct the view of the driver or passenger and not to obscure the view of the driver on the road ahead. In Arkansas, it`s legal to install ceramic tints on your car. Section 23-5-417 of the Arkansas Vehicle Code states that “a vehicle shall not be painted with a ceramic coating unless the coating meets the requirements of ASTM D 6662.” The ceramic tint is treated as a finish and not as a window treatment.
You do not need a permit or certification from the Ministry of Transportation. (a) It is illegal to drive a vehicle on a highway if aftermarket dye materials have been applied to the vehicle windows with stripes or if letters or logos more than a quarter of an inch (1/4 inch) have been placed on the vehicle windows. (c) Any vehicle operating on Arkansas roads with aftermarket dye material on glass shall have a label affixed to the windshield immediately to the left of the operator containing the name and telephone number of the company installing the tinting material and confirming that all tints on the vehicle comply with the requirements of this section. (d) The provisions of this section do not apply to motorists who operate vehicles registered in other States that have enacted laws governing the shading of windshields or windows of motor vehicles on Arkansas roads and highways. (e) (1) (A) A motorist is exempt from this section if a physician diagnoses the driver with a disease or disorder, including but not limited to albinism or lupus, for which the physician determines that it is in the best interests of the driver to be exempted from the requirements of this section. The driver must carry a medical certificate in his motor vehicle. (B) The installation of tinted windows is exempt from this section if the tinted glass is incorporated into the motor vehicle of a person exempted under this subsection as evidenced by a medical certificate. (C) For vehicles tinted before 16 August 2013, this subsection (e)(1) shall apply. Proof of the date of application of the colour and the name and telephone number of the company that applied the colour must be brought to the motor vehicle. (2) After 16. In August 2013, a motorist who submits a medical certificate attesting that such tint is in the best interests of the driver may have the tint of the windows performed as follows: (A) Side windows and side fenders immediately to the right or left of the driver or to the right or left immediately behind the driver may be covered with aftermarket tinted material: at least twenty percent (20%) of clear light transmission; (B) The rearmost pane may be covered with a subsequent tint material resulting in a net light transmission of at least ten percent (10%). and (C) the windshield may be covered with an aftermarket tinted material that allows for a net light transmission of at least fifty percent (50%).
(3) After 13. As of August 2013, a vehicle traveling on Arkansas roads with tinted materials on the glass under this section must have a tinted window installer label on the windshield immediately to the left of the operator, which: (A) provides the name and telephone number of the company that installed the dye material; and (B) confirms that all colours on the vehicle comply with the requirements of this section. 4. A driver who applies the provisions of this section must carry the medical certificate on board the motor vehicle. 5. A medical certificate issued in accordance with this subsection shall be valid for three (3) years from the date of issue. (6) When making available a vehicle with tinted windows under the medical exemption, the seller shall, (A) disclose that the tint of the windows is not within the legal limits without a medical exemption; or (B) remove the tint that was based on the medical exemption. (f) The provisions of this section shall not apply to vehicles or operators of vehicles used exclusively or principally for the transport of human bodies.