Colorado`s curfew laws aim to limit the amount of time new drivers spend behind the wheel during the riskiest hours of the day, which are from midnight to 5 a.m. During this time, visibility is usually at the lowest possible point, and teenage drivers may not know how to drive their vehicle safely in low-light conditions. Colorado also enforces strict passenger rules for teen drivers. While many newly licensed people look forward to driving with their friends, they may face quotes if they violate Colorado`s restrictions on passengers of underage drivers. If you meet all driver training and driver`s license requirements and pass the driving test, you will receive the Colorado Minor License. The license can be issued to anyone under the age of 21 and, although it allows driving without the supervision of another authorized driver, it is still subject to the following restrictions: All underage drivers must comply with the laws applicable to newly licensed underage drivers in Colorado. If you think a teenage driver is responsible for your recent accident, law firm Jeremy Rosenthal can help. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and speak to a lawyer about your case. Traffic rules apply to drivers of all ages, but there are some additional restrictions that all teen drivers should be aware of.

The most important driving restriction that all teen Colorado drivers must follow is the zero-tolerance policy regarding alcohol. In Colorado, it is illegal for any driver over the age of 21 to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. However, teens aren`t old enough to buy or consume alcohol in Colorado, so the state has a zero-tolerance policy. This means that if a teen drives with a detectable amount of alcohol in their system, they are eligible for an impaired driving prosecution. If a teen causes a drunk driving accident or is stopped by police on suspicion of impaired driving, it can result in fines, loss of driving privileges, and even jail time if they injure or kill someone. A: Breaking the teen curfew in Colorado is a minor traffic violation that carries penalties, including a $50 fine, two points on the teen driver`s license, and 8 to 24 hours of community service. A second curfew violation would increase those penalties to a $150 fine and 16 to 40 hours of community service. Minor drivers who have not had a driving license for at least one year are also not allowed to drive between 12:00 and 5:00. Exceptions are provided if: Due to the fact that underage drivers are one of the groups most at risk of accidents, Colorado law limits their ability to carry passengers in their vehicles during the first year they have their driver`s license.

During the first six months that a new driver has his or her driver`s licence, he or she is not allowed to pick up passengers under the age of 21 unless he or she has a parent or other licensed driver over the age of 21 in the vehicle. In the next six months, they cannot have more than one passenger under the age of 21. Medical emergencies are the only exceptions to this law. Teen drivers are not allowed to have more than one passenger in their front seat at any given time, and teen drivers and all passengers must wear seat belts at all times. A reminder of all traffic laws can be found in the Colorado Department of Revenue Driver`s Manual. Visit the Ministry of Motor Vehicles website for more information on underage drivers. Colorado`s first graduated driver`s license laws went into effect on July 1, 1999. The law required teenagers to drive supervised for at least six months with their instruction license, record 50 hours of driving with their parents or driving instructors (including 10 hours at night), not be allowed to drive between midnight and 5 a.m. for drivers under 17, and young drivers with a driver`s license must limit passengers to the number of Safety in the car.

Since then, laws have been passed to restrict the driving of passengers with inexperienced drivers, ban the use of mobile phones while driving, and make seat belts mandatory for all occupants under the age of 18. Although Colorado`s tiered licensing system now seems like a nuisance, statistics show that the program saves lives and could one day save your life. Make sure you follow all driver`s license rules and requirements and drive safely! A minor driver of a motor vehicle under the age of eighteen (18) years shall not be charged with an offence related to the carriage of persons in a motor vehicle of less than twenty-one (21) persons, unless the minor driver has been stopped by a law enforcement officer for another traffic offence for which the minor driver may be arrested by the forces of the order. A minor driver must observe certain curfews during the first year in which he or she has his or her driver`s licence. In particular, they are not allowed to drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or guardian. Some exceptions to this Act include driving to or from school or work with a signed declaration from the young person`s school or workplace. Medical emergencies may also be an exception.

Emancipated minors are also legally exempt from this law. The state of Colorado has a number of driving laws that only apply to teen drivers. The laws are commonly known as the Colorado Graduate Driver`s License Requirements and they govern how teenage drivers apply for a driver`s license and also specify a number of additional license restrictions designed to protect young drivers. Multi-level driver`s license requirements are a bit complicated, as the state offers a number of different learning permits, each specific to a particular age group, each with its own requirements and restrictions. We hope that after reading this, you will understand how Colorado`s graduated driver`s license requirements affect you. If you have had your teaching license for at least 12 months and meet all of the above requirements, you can apply for the road test and get a driver`s license for minors, which expires 20 days after the age of 21. The minor driver`s license has the following restrictions: These restrictions include prohibiting a minor driver, except in certain specific circumstances, from operating a motor vehicle in Colorado that contains a passenger under the age of twenty-one (21) and is not an immediate family member of the minor driver until such minor driver has held a valid driver`s license for at least six (6) months. Note: This article was correct when it was published. Please confirm all information directly with Commander DMV. You can visit the DMV CO website or call the DMV for more information.

DriversEd.com is a private company and is in no way affiliated with the Department of Motor Vehicles, any other government agency or the driving schools listed on this website. All external hyperlinks are provided for information purposes and for the benefit of the general public. DriversEd.com does not attest, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on external sites. For more information on teen safety and laws in Colorado, please visit www.COteendriver.com or Keys2Drive, a AAA website that helps parents and teens throughout the learning process. In addition to the curfew and passenger restrictions that apply to teen drivers in Colorado, teens should also understand the state`s cell phone driving law and the state`s zero-tolerance drinking policy. It is illegal for any underage driver to use a mobile phone while driving for any reason, except in a medical emergency. Cell phone use is one of the leading causes of distracted traffic accidents in the United States. Minors can face fines, driver`s license points, or even license revocation for violating this law. What does a youth under the age of 18 have to do with an instruction licence before applying for a driver`s licence? The Colorado legislature has enacted several restrictions on minors driving a motor vehicle in Colorado.

For the purposes of these restrictions, a “minor driver is a minor with a valid driver`s license who is under eighteen (18) years of age at the time of operating a motor vehicle in the State of Colorado.” .